Dozens of food samplers, a hot dog eating contest, a beer-and-cheese pairing, and live music from the Blues Brothers Bootleg Roadshow await guests at the Food Fest: Aspen Grove in Littleton on Sunday, August. 19. The event takes place from 11:00 am - 4:00 in the parking lot of the Aspen Grove shopping center at 7301 South Santa Fe Drive. Admission and parking are free, and guests can pay $10 for a dozen Taste Tickets to sample the food.

When you picture Miami you might imagine the hot white sand beaches, baller poolside events, set against a skyline of glass skyscrapers, or maybe it’s the inner city streets that flow to an unheard riddim, back dropped to vibrant color buildings, and kids just hanging out in the heavy humid air.  A unique city with a blend of Caribbean cultures meets beach town USA, a place where you can feel the island energy pulsing through the city. It is this melting pot of diversity where the genre bending group, ¡MayDay!

Today, Rob Garza releases his latest offering, Dissolve EP (Armada Music).  The tracks on the EP move and meld from full on dance party, to dark and hauntingly captivating.

The 1968 debut album from celebrated Chicago-based guitarist TERRY CALLIER will be officially re-released on CD, hi-res digital in both 96/24-bit quality and 192/24-bit quality, and-for the first time--on vinyl October 19 when Los Angeles' Craft Recordings reissues The New Folk Sound Of Terry Callier. The album - originally recorded on one afternoon in 1964 but not released until four years later when a copy of the almost-lost master was rediscovered - is unique in that it features just an acoustic guitar and two bass players.

No Dry County, better known as NDC, comprised of Trent Langford (Singer/Songwriter/Guitar/Keys), Matt Newsom (Drums/Vocals), Dub Wood (Bass/Vocals) and Bristen Phillips (Guitars/Keys), began in 2009, as an 80’s cover band. Developing a sound of their own, NDC released their debut EP Ella Rose in 2011 followed by their sophomore EP To Whom It May Concern in 2012 and debut full-length, The Night Before, in 2015.

Brooklyn based band Underground System is embracing all that they are, and what they stand for, on their forthcoming album, WHAT ARE YOU. Due out September 7th on Soul Clap Records.

Shining Stone Records announces the signing of multi-Blues Music Award nominee Anthony Geraci, and will release the keyboardist’s new CD, Why Did You Have to Go, on September 21. Geraci has assembled an impressive cast of musicians to perform with him on the new disc, including guitar legend Ronnie Earl, as well as many Blues Music Award nominees/winners, such as Sugar Ray Norcia, Monster Mike Welch, Michael Mudcat Ward and Neil Gouvin (all fellow members with Geraci in Sugar Ray and the Bluetones).

The California Mid State fair was in full swing Sunday, July 22nd featuring a concert by pop star Demi Lovato and Australian Hip Hop sensation, Iggy Azalea. Warm temperatures in the mid 90’s enveloped the packed fairgrounds, and copious amounts of alcohol as well as non-alcoholic beverages were being consumed along with all manner of good, fair food. While farmers displayed their prized domestic animals, screaming teens rode the carnival rides like the Zipper.

The latest innovation in New Orleans funk Chapter:SOUL is the brainchild of bandleader, vocalist and tenor saxophonist Calvin Johnson, Jr. featuring a modern 4-piece funk and soul band. This is New Orleans music, yes-but newer, younger, and driven by a new vision for NOLA music in the 21st century. The idea for Chapter:SOUL first struck Johnson during a conversation with legendary Dirty Dozen Brass Band sousaphone player Kirk Joseph while they were on tour together.

Grammy-nominated DJ, music producer, composer and music and film director Sam Spiegel’s “To Whom It May Concern,” featuring Ceelo Green, Theophilus London and Alex Ebert, premieres today at Consequence of Sound.

Archived news